It’s All a Frame of Mind

My lack of blogging in recent weeks and months has weighed heavily on my mind, and I’ve been trying to figure out why it is now so darn hard for me to come up with ideas of what to write about. During the last school year it was practically magical how each week, there would be a great idea, just hanging there in my brain. Now? It’s just not happening that way.

I fear that now, since I spend most of my waking hours at home, my brain isn’t being offered those glimpses into situations and conversations that were the fodder for my blogging. And it is true that my activities now are more inwardly focused, quiet. It’s a big lifestyle change! I have a lot to learn about how to “be” retired, but  I’m not just hanging here like a lump, really! I traveled to Florida a week or so ago to spend a few days with my sister — the 80 degrees and sunshine did much to help my fight against the New Hampshire winter blues that I inevitably feel come February. Next week my dear friend from Canada is coming to visit for a few days, and when she leaves, I’ll fly to South Dakota for a delightful visit with family (and grandchildren)! Wow — I’ve been busier than I realized.

It’s all a frame of mind, I think. During the last year that I taught, I held blogging at the front of my brain, and so going through the days my brain would land on a situation or experience and “bookmark” it as a good topic to write about. I’ve not continued to do that, especially now that I’m concentrating on writing a poem every day, which is a much more introverted and personal mindset.

And so I shall share a recent poem with you. I drove to Massachusetts to visit my brother this past Monday (gosh, do I ever stay home?) and as I returned to New Hampshire it was dusk. Here’s what happened:

Soaring 

This evening as I traveled home,
a living haiku
danced before my eyes. 

There must have been a hundred geese
flying north
                  in a collection of chaos
that included a couple of loose strings,
halves of a V,
each disconnected from its partner.

Then, from the back, one goose flew
fast and strong,
faster and stronger than all the others
until he was at the very front of the pack
with some distance between him and the next in line.

My road curved away from this sight
and I lost the view.
Turned a corner and saw them again:
           Five large formations
       undulating, north bound geese
         round the bright full moon
 Life is good.
photo from flickr.com: sunset geese by Scorpions and Centaurs
7 thoughts on “It’s All a Frame of Mind

  1. Thanks — it took forever to get the formatting right. I even had to add HTML code in the editing window, so I probably won’t post too many poems as time goes forward. We’ll see.

  2. Sounds like a project with other people will be in your future!But take your time…They are waiting in the wings to get you to… Volunteer to teach reading to an adult? Loved the poem. Always wondered why the formations sometimes are not V’s! The new leader is missing…I wonder what misshapen V is waiting for you!

    Enjoy the grandchildren! Watching my sister with her two, I get a glimpse of what it must feel like!

  3. I like the title of your post, and agree that how something is framed makes all the difference in the world.

    I’ve been retired for a little more than 2 months, but I think of myself as being freed from the need to earn a living. It’s almost like being independently wealthy, albeit on a very small scale! Believe it or not, it made a difference for me.

  4. I think that everyone who writes experiences some “blank moments” from time to time. As you suggest, these moments are temporary and can be shortened (if not entirely eliminated) by getting out and doing something different. That’s why writers are most creative when they reach “outside the box.” Bill

Leave a Reply

